Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2018 Special Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

Title 23 : Motor Vehicles

Chapter 039 : COMMERCIAL DRIVER LICENSE ACT

(Cite as: 23 V.S.A. § 4116a)
  • § 4116a. Suspension of operating privilege

    (a) A person's privilege to operate a commercial motor vehicle in the State of Vermont shall be suspended for one year, if:

    (1) the person is convicted of a first violation of operating, attempting to operate, or being in actual physical control of a commercial motor vehicle on a highway with an alcohol concentration of 0.04 or more, or under the influence, as defined in section 1218 of this title; and

    (2) the person's commercial driver license or commercial learner's permit is issued by a state or country that does not have a reciprocity agreement with the State of Vermont for the disqualification of commercial driver licenses or permits under section 4115 of this title.

    (b) A person's privilege to operate a commercial motor vehicle in the State of Vermont shall be suspended for three years if the person is convicted of violating subsection (a) of this section, and the violation occurred while the person was transporting a hazardous material required to be placarded.

    (c) A person's privilege to operate a commercial motor vehicle in the State of Vermont shall be suspended for life if the person is convicted a second time of violating subsection (a) of this section, and both convictions arise out of separate occurrences.

    (d) A person's privilege to operate a commercial motor vehicle in the State of Vermont shall be suspended for 60 days if the person is convicted of two serious traffic violations, or for 120 days if the person is convicted of three serious traffic violations, arising from separate incidents occurring within a three-year period.

    (e) A person's privilege to operate a commercial motor vehicle in the State of Vermont shall be suspended for life if the person uses a commercial motor vehicle in the commission of any offense under State or federal law that is punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding one year, involving the manufacture, distribution, or dispensing of a regulated drug, or possession with intent to manufacture, distribute, or dispense a regulated drug, and for which the person was convicted. (Added 1999, No. 160 (Adj. Sess.), § 26; amended 2013, No. 20, § 1.)