The Vermont Statutes Online
Subchapter 002 : Motorboats(Cite as: 23 V.S.A. § 3307)
§ 3307. Exemption from Vermont numbering provisions
(a) A motorboat is not required to have a Vermont number under this chapter if it is:
(1) Already covered by a number in effect that has been awarded to it under federal law or a federally approved numbering system of another state if the boat has not been within the State for more than 90 days.
(2) A motorboat from a country other than the United States if the boat has not been within the State for more than 90 days.
(3) A motorboat owned by the United States, a state or subdivision of the United States, or a state and not rented, leased, or used by any person other than an employee of the government. However, the boat shall have the name of the government or department of the government owning it printed on each side of the bow.
(4) A ship's lifeboat.
(5) Licensed, numbered, or otherwise registered under New Hampshire laws for operation on waters in that state, but only when it is operated on such parts of the Connecticut River and impoundments of the river as may lie in Vermont and only when and to the same extent as New Hampshire laws allow motorboats licensed, numbered, or otherwise recognized by Vermont laws as being registered for lawful operation on waters within Vermont to be operated on such parts of the Connecticut River and impoundments of the river as may be in New Hampshire.
(b) Any exemptions provided in this section shall apply to an owner or operator of a motorboat only to the extent that under the laws of the foreign country or state of his or her residence like exemptions and privileges are granted to operators and owners of motorboats duly registered under the laws of this State.
(c) Failure to meet one of the exemptions of this section will require registration and numbering in Vermont. (Added 1983, No. 212 (Adj. Sess.), § 2; amended 1985, No. 90, § 3, eff. Jan. 1, 1986; 2015, No. 47, § 49.)