Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2021-2022 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

 

Title 23 : Motor Vehicles

Chapter 029 : SNOWMOBILES, MOTORBOATS, AND WATER SPORTS

Subchapter 002 : Motorboats

(Cite as: 23 V.S.A. § 3306)
  • § 3306. Lights and equipment

    (a) Every vessel shall carry and show the following lights when underway between sunset and sunrise:

    (1) manually propelled boats, a lantern capable of showing a white light that shall be temporarily displayed in sufficient time to prevent collision;

    (2) motorboats less than 26 feet in length, a white light aft showing all around, visible for at least two miles, a light in the forepart of the boat, lower than the white light aft, showing green to starboard and red to port, visible for at least one mile;

    (3) motorboats 26 feet or longer, a white light aft showing all around, visible for at least two miles, and a light in the forepart of the boat showing red to port and green to starboard, visible at least one mile;

    (4) boats propelled by sail, a white light showing all around visible for at least two miles, and a white light in the forepart of the boat, lower than the white light aft, showing red to port and green to starboard;

    (5) any light or combination of lights approved by the Coast Guard for inland waters shall be considered legal for Vermont waters.

    (b)(1) Personal flotation devices. Each vessel, except sailboards, shall carry at least one U.S. Coast Guard approved personal flotation device consistent with federal regulations in good and serviceable condition for each individual aboard.

    (2) Vessels; individuals less than 12 years of age. In addition to the provisions of this subsection, a person under 12 years of age aboard a vessel, while under way and the individual is on an open deck, shall wear a Type I, II, or III U.S. Coast Guard-approved personal flotation device.

    (3) Sailboards; individuals less than 16 years of age. An individual under 16 years of age aboard a sailboard shall wear a Type I, II, or III U.S. Coast Guard-approved personal flotation device.

    (4) Inspected commercial vessels. U.S. Coast Guard-inspected commercial vessels shall be exempt from the provisions of this subsection.

    (c) Every motorboat and auxiliary powered sailboats except outboard motorboats less than 26 feet in length and of open construction not carrying passengers for hire shall carry on board, fully charged and in good condition, U.S. Coast Guard-approved hand portable fire extinguishers as follows:

    (1) Motorboats and auxiliary powered sailboats with no fixed fire extinguisher system in the machinery space and that are:

    (A) less than 26 feet in length, one extinguisher;

    (B) 26 feet or longer, but less than 40 feet, two extinguishers;

    (C) 40 feet or longer, three extinguishers.

    (2) Motorboats and auxiliary powered sailboats with a fixed fire extinguisher system in the machinery space and that are:

    (A) 26 feet or longer but less than 40 feet, one extinguisher;

    (B) 40 feet or longer, two extinguishers.

    (d) The extinguishers referred to by this section are class B-I extinguishers described in 46 C.F.R. § 25.30, but one class B-II extinguisher described in that regulation may be substituted for two class B-I extinguishers.

    (e) Every marine toilet on board any vessel operated on the waters of the State shall also incorporate or be equipped with a holding tank. Any holding tank designed so as to provide for an optional means of discharge to the waters on which the vessel is operating shall have the discharge openings sealed shut and any discharge lines, pipes, or hoses shall be disconnected and stored while the vessel is in the waters of this State.

    (f) Nothing in this section shall be construed to prevent the discharge of adequately treated wastes from any vessel operating under the provisions of a valid discharge permit issued by the Department of Environmental Conservation.

    (g) Motorboats operated on waters that the U.S. Coast Guard has determined to be navigable waters of the United States and therefore subject to the jurisdiction of the United States must have lights and other safety equipment as required by U.S. Coast Guard rules and regulations. (Added 1983, No. 212 (Adj. Sess.), § 2; amended 1985, No. 90, § 2, eff. Jan. 1, 1986; 1987, No. 76, § 18; 1989, No. 65, § 5; 1989, No. 159 (Adj. Sess.), § 1; 2017, No. 71, § 28, eff. June 8, 2017; 2019, No. 131 (Adj. Sess.), § 237.)