Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2023-2024 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

The Vermont Statutes Online have been updated to include the actions of the 2023 session of the General Assembly.

NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.

Title 23 : Motor Vehicles

Chapter 013 : Operation of Vehicles

Subchapter 015 : Weight, Size, Loads

(Cite as: 23 V.S.A. § 1411)
  • § 1411. Refusal to weigh vehicle or remove overload

    An operator of a motor truck shall not fail or refuse to stop or submit the vehicle and load to weighing, or fail or refuse when directed by an officer upon weighing of the vehicle to stop the vehicle and otherwise comply with the provisions of sections 1409 and 1410 of this title. A person violating this section or section 1410 shall be fined not less than $500.00 nor more than $2500.00 and, at the time of the violation, the officer may impound the vehicle and have it weighed and after weighing and upon payment of towing charges, the vehicle shall be released or disposed of under the provisions of section 1413 of this title. Notwithstanding the provisions of section 1412 of this title, a violator may have sanctions imposed under the provisions of this section and be additionally fined for violation of other weight regulations provided for by this subchapter. (Amended 1971, No. 228 (Adj. Sess.), § 25; 1977, No. 177 (Adj. Sess.), § 6, eff. May 1, 1978; 1983, No. 86, § 7.)