Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2023-2024 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

The Vermont Statutes Online have been updated to include the actions of the 2023 session of the General Assembly.

NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.

Title 23 : Motor Vehicles

Chapter 013 : Operation of Vehicles

Subchapter 014 : Equipment

(Cite as: 23 V.S.A. § 1246)
  • § 1246. Restrictions

    A person shall not use on a vehicle of any kind operated on the highway during the period stated in section 1243 of this title any lighting device of over four candle power equipped with a reflector, unless such device and the lens used therein and such candle power is approved by the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles, nor unless the same shall be so designed, deflected, or arranged that a beam of reflected light therefrom, when measured 75 feet or more ahead of the lamps shall not rise more than six inches above the height of the bulb in such lamp and in no event more than 42 inches from the level surface on which the vehicle stands under all conditions of load. When vehicles are approaching each other from opposite directions, spotlights shall not be used except when projecting their rays directly on the ground and at a distance not exceeding 30 feet in front of the vehicle.