Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2023-2024 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

The Vermont Statutes Online does not include the actions of the 2024 session of the General Assembly. We expect them to be updated by November 1st.

NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.

Title 23 : Motor Vehicles

Chapter 013 : Operation of Vehicles

Subchapter 014 : Equipment

(Cite as: 23 V.S.A. § 1227)
  • § 1227. Certified inspection mechanics

    (a) Periodic inspections may be performed only by mechanics who have been certified by the Commissioner, provided that an uncertified person employed as an inspection mechanic may perform inspections during the first 30 days that he or she is employed by the inspection station.

    (b)(1) A person who applies for certification under this section shall:

    (A) complete an application form prescribed by the Commissioner;

    (B) be at least 18 years of age; and

    (C) except as otherwise provided pursuant to subdivision (2) of this subsection (b), pass an examination based on the official inspection manual for each type of vehicle to be inspected and on the inspection requirements for each type of vehicle to be inspected.

    (2) A service member or veteran shall not be required to pass an examination pursuant to subdivision (1)(C) of this subsection if he or she has been designated by the U.S. Armed Forces as a 91B Wheeled Vehicle Mechanic or equivalent and has one or more of the following national certifications:

    (A) ASE Diesel Mechanic;

    (B) ASE Light Truck Engine Repair;

    (C) ASE Automobile Service Consultant;

    (D) Certified Hazardous Material Manager; or

    (E) Associate Safety Professional.

    (c) Upon an applicant’s satisfaction of the requirements of subsection (b) of this section, the Commissioner shall issue a certification that shall remain in effect for a period of five years or until surrendered, suspended, or revoked. Inspection mechanics certified by their employer as competent to perform inspections and who were continuously employed by one or more designated inspection stations for a period of at least one year at any time prior to July 1, 1998 shall not be required to take the examination.

    (d) To inspect a school bus, a certified inspection mechanic shall not be required to have a commercial driver license if he or she:

    (1) uses approved automated brake testing equipment in lieu of an inspection road test; or

    (2) only operates the school bus at a safe location that is not a highway as defined in 19 V.S.A. § 1(12) as necessary to conduct an inspection road test.

    (e) As used in this section:

    (1) “Service member” means an individual who is an active member of:

    (A) the U.S. Armed Forces;

    (B) a reserve component of the U.S. Armed Forces;

    (C) the U.S. Coast Guard; or

    (D) the National Guard of any state.

    (2) “Veteran” means a former service member who received an honorable discharge or a general discharge under honorable conditions from active duty not more than two years prior to submitting an application for certification under this section. (Added 1997, No. 155 (Adj. Sess.), § 66j, eff. Jan. 1, 1999; amended 2005, No. 188 (Adj. Sess.), § 5; 2013, No. 189 (Adj. Sess.), § 38; 2017, No. 119 (Adj. Sess.), § 6.)