The Vermont Statutes Online
The Vermont Statutes Online have been updated to include the actions of the 2023 session of the General Assembly.
NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.
Subchapter 012 : Operation of Bicycles, Electric Personal Assistive Mobility Devices, and Play Vehicles(Cite as: 23 V.S.A. § 1141)
§ 1141. Equipment on bicycles
(a) A person shall not operate a bicycle at nighttime from one-half hour after sunset until one-half hour before sunrise unless the bicycle or the bicyclist is equipped with a lamp on the front which emits a white light visible from a distance of at least 500 feet to the front. In addition, bicyclists shall operate during these hours with either a lamp on the rear of the bicycle or bicyclist that emits a flashing or steady red light visible at least 300 feet to the rear, or with reflective, rear-facing material or reflectors, or both, with a surface area totaling at least 20 square inches on the bicycle or bicyclist and visible at least 300 feet to the rear.
(b) No person may equip a bicycle with any siren or whistle, or any device simulating a siren of an authorized emergency vehicle, nor may he or she operate a bicycle so equipped.
(c) No person may operate a bicycle unless it is equipped with a brake that will enable the operator to make the braked wheels skid on dry, level, clean pavement. (Added 1971, No. 258 (Adj. Sess.), § 3, eff. March 1, 1973; amended 1979, No. 22; 2009, No. 114 (Adj. Sess.), § 7.)