The Vermont Statutes Online
The Vermont Statutes Online have been updated to include the actions of the 2023 session of the General Assembly.
NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.
Subchapter 011 : Miscellaneous Rules(Cite as: 23 V.S.A. § 1135)
§ 1135. Trespass by motor vehicle
(a) A person commits the offense of trespass by motor vehicle if the person, knowing that he or she is not privileged to do so:
(1) operates a motor vehicle and obstructs a private driveway, barway, or gateway; or
(2) operates a motor vehicle and travels over a private road that is so marked, or travels over other private lands; or
(3) operates a motor vehicle on any land that is owned or held by the State:
(A) that is not a place or trail specifically designated and marked by the Secretary of Natural Resources for use by motor vehicles; or
(B) contrary to any rule governing the use of the place or trail.
(b) A person who violates this section shall be assessed a civil penalty of not more than $100.00 for each offense or, if the violation results in damage to property, the person shall be assessed a civil penalty of not more than $175.00 for each offense.
(c) As used in this section, “motor vehicle” does not include an all-terrain vehicle or snowmobile.
(d) This section shall not apply to any highway open to the public. (Added 1989, No. 247 (Adj. Sess.), § 2; amended 2019, No. 131 (Adj. Sess.), § 186.)