Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2023-2024 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

The Vermont Statutes Online have been updated to include the actions of the 2023 session of the General Assembly.

NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.

Title 23 : Motor Vehicles

Chapter 013 : Operation of Vehicles

Subchapter 010 : Stopping, Standing, and Parking

(Cite as: 23 V.S.A. § 1104)
  • § 1104. Stopping prohibited

    (a) Except when necessary to avoid conflict with other traffic, or in compliance with law or the directions of an enforcement officer or official traffic-control device, no person may:

    (1) Stop, stand, or park a vehicle:

    (A) on the roadway side of any vehicle stopped or parked at the edge or curb of a street;

    (B) on a sidewalk;

    (C) within an intersection;

    (D) on a crosswalk;

    (E) alongside or opposite any street excavation or obstruction when stopping, standing, or parking would obstruct traffic;

    (F) upon any bridge or other elevated structure or within a highway tunnel;

    (G) on any railroad tracks; or

    (H) at any place where official signs prohibit stopping.

    (2) Stand or park a vehicle, whether occupied or not, except momentarily to pick up or discharge a passenger:

    (A) in front of a public or private driveway;

    (B) within six feet of a fire hydrant;

    (C) within 20 feet of a crosswalk at an intersection;

    (D) within 30 feet upon the approach to any flashing signal, stop sign, or traffic control light located at the side of a roadway;

    (E) within 20 feet of the driveway entrance to any fire station and on the side of a street opposite and within 75 feet of the entrance to any fire station, when properly signposted;

    (F) at any place where official signs prohibit standing.

    (3) Park a vehicle, whether occupied or not, except temporarily for the purpose of and while actually engaged in loading or unloading merchandise or a passenger:

    (A) within 50 feet of the nearest rail of a railroad crossing;

    (B) at any place where official signs prohibit parking;

    (C) at any place where official signs restrict parking at an electric vehicle charging station and the vehicle violates the restrictions.

    (b) No person may move a vehicle not lawfully under his or her control into any prohibited area or an unlawful distance away from a curb. (Added 1971, No. 258 (Adj. Sess.), § 3, eff. March 1, 1973; amended 2017, No. 139 (Adj. Sess.), § 15.)