The Vermont Statutes Online
The Vermont Statutes Online have been updated to include the actions of the 2023 session of the General Assembly.
NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.
Subchapter 009 : Violations and Penalties(Cite as: 23 V.S.A. § 1094)
§ 1094. Operation without consent of owner; aggravated operation without consent of owner
(a) A person commits the crime of operation without consent of the owner if the person, without the consent of the owner, knowingly takes, obtains, operates, uses, or continues to operate the motor vehicle of another.
(b) A person commits the crime of aggravated operation without consent of the owner if the person, without the consent of the owner, knowingly takes, obtains, operates, uses, or continues to operate the motor vehicle of another, and:
(1) the motor vehicle is not recovered within 24 hours of the time it is determined the theft occurred regardless of whether the operator is then in actual or constructive possession of the vehicle; or
(2) the motor vehicle sustains $500.00 or more in damage during the commission of the offense; or
(3) the person does any of the following:
(A) attempts to alter or disguise or alters or disguises the appearance of the motor vehicle;
(B) attempts to alter or remove or alters or removes the vehicle identification number as defined in subdivision 2001(3) of this title;
(C) uses the motor vehicle in the commission of a felony;
(D) causes bodily injury to another while operating or exercising control of the motor vehicle;
(E) abandons the motor vehicle outside the State of Vermont; or
(F) unlawfully attaches or otherwise displays in or upon the motor vehicle registration plates other than those officially issued for the motor vehicle.
(c) A person convicted under subsection (a) of this section of operation without consent of the owner shall be imprisoned not more than two years or fined not more than $1,000.00, or both.
(d) A person convicted under subsection (b) of this section of aggravated operation without consent of the owner shall be imprisoned not more than five years or fined not more than $2,000.00, or both.
(e) This section shall not be construed to limit or restrict prosecutions for grand larceny.
(f) A person convicted of violating this section shall be assessed a surcharge of $50.00, which shall be added to any fine or surcharge imposed by the court. The court shall collect and transfer the surcharge assessed under this subsection to be credited to the DUI Enforcement Fund. The collection procedures described in 13 V.S.A. § 5240 shall be utilized in the collection of this surcharge. (Added 1971, No. 258 (Adj. Sess.) § 3, eff. March 1, 1973; amended 1973, No. 109, § 9, eff. May 25, 1973; 1997, No. 117 (Adj. Sess.), § 24; 1999, No. 102 (Adj. Sess.), § 1.)