Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2023-2024 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

The Vermont Statutes Online have been updated to include the actions of the 2023 session of the General Assembly.

NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.

Title 23 : Motor Vehicles

Chapter 009 : Operator's Licenses

Subchapter 004 : Driver Training School Licenses

(Cite as: 23 V.S.A. § 704)
  • § 704. Qualifications for training school license

    To qualify for a driver’s training school license, each new and renewal applicant shall:

    (1) not have been convicted of a felony nor incarcerated for a felony within the 10 years prior to the date of application;

    (2) maintain an established place of business open to the public;

    (3) maintain bodily injury and property damage liability insurance on each motor vehicle being used in driver training, insuring the liability of the driver training school and the operator of each motor vehicle for each instructor and of any person while using any such motor vehicle with the permission of the named insured in at least the following amount: $300,000.00 for bodily injury or death of one person in any one crash and, subject to said limit for one person, $500,000.00 for bodily injury or death of two or more persons in any one crash, and $100,000.00 for damage to property of others in any one crash;

    (4) have the equipment necessary to the giving of proper instruction in the operation of motor vehicles; and

    (5) pay the application and license fees prescribed in section 702 of this title. (Added 1959, No. 153, § 4, eff. Jan. 1, 1960; amended 1981, No. 136 (Adj. Sess.), § 1, eff. Jan. 1, 1983; 1999, No. 110 (Adj. Sess.), § 5; 2013, No. 189 (Adj. Sess.), § 11; 2021, No. 105 (Adj. Sess.), § 415, eff. July 1, 2022.)