The Vermont Statutes Online
The Vermont Statutes Online have been updated to include the actions of the 2023 session of the General Assembly.
NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.
Subchapter 001 : General Benefits(Cite as: 21 V.S.A. § 1314a)
§ 1314a. Quarterly wage reporting; misclassification; penalties
(a)(1) Each employing unit that is an employer that has individuals in employment as defined in subdivision 1301(6) of this chapter shall file with the Commissioner on forms supplied by the Commissioner a detailed wage report for each calendar quarter that contains each individual worker’s name, Social Security number, gross wages paid during each calendar quarter, and any other information the Commissioner deems necessary in the administration of this chapter.
(2) In addition to other information required by this section, the wage reports required by this subsection shall include for each worker paid by the hour the worker’s gender and the worker’s hourly wage.
(b) Reports required by subsection (a) of this section shall be filed with the Commissioner by the last day of the calendar month following the calendar quarter for which the report is submitted.
(c) An employing unit that is not an employer shall, upon request of the Commissioner, submit reports on forms furnished by the Commissioner regarding employment, wages, hours of employment, unemployment, and related matters that the Commissioner deems necessary in the administration of this chapter.
(d) Reports required by subsection (c) of this section shall be submitted to the Commissioner not later than 10 calendar days after the date the Commissioner’s request was mailed to the employing unit.
(e) On request of the Commissioner, any employing unit or employer shall report, within 10 days of the mailing or personal delivery of the request, separation information for a claimant, any disqualifying income the claimant may have received, and any other information that the Commissioner may require to determine the claimant’s eligibility for unemployment compensation. The Commissioner shall make a request when:
(1) the claimant’s eligibility is dependent upon:
(A) wages paid during an incomplete calendar quarter in which the claimant was separated; or
(B) the last completed quarter; and
(2) obtaining the information will result in more timely benefit payments.
(f)(1) Any employing unit or employer that fails to:
(A) File a report required by this section shall be subject to an administrative penalty of $100.00 for each report not received by the prescribed due dates.
(B) Properly classify an individual regarding the status of employment shall be subject to an administrative penalty of not more than $5,000.00 for each improperly classified employee. In addition, an employer found to have violated this section is prohibited from contracting, directly or indirectly, with the State or any of its subdivisions for up to three years following the date the employer was found to have failed to properly classify, as determined by the Commissioner in consultation with the Commissioner of Buildings and General Services or the Secretary of Transportation, as appropriate. Either the Secretary or the Commissioner, as appropriate, shall be consulted in any appeal relating to prohibiting the employer from contracting with the State or its subdivisions.
(2)(A) Penalties under this subsection (f) shall be collected in the same manner as contributions under section 1329 of this title and shall be paid into the Contingent Fund established in section 1365 of this title.
(B) If the employing unit demonstrates that its failure was due to a reasonable cause, the Commissioner may waive or reduce the penalty.
(g)(1) Notwithstanding any other provisions of this section, the Commissioner may, where practicable, require any employing unit to file the reports required pursuant to subsections (a) through (d) of this section, or any departmental registration required prior to submitting the reports required by this section, in an electronic media form.
(2) The Commissioner may waive the requirement that an employing unit submit a report in an electronic media form if the employing unit attests that it is unable to file the required report in that form. (Added 1985, No. 50, § 6; amended 1985, No. 146 (Adj. Sess.), § 4; 1987, No. 227 (Adj. Sess.), § 2, eff. May 26, 1988; 1989, No. 132 (Adj. Sess.), § 3; 1997, No. 101 (Adj. Sess.), § 2; 1999, No. 119 (Adj. Sess.), § 10, eff. May 18, 2000; 2001, No. 56, § 1; 2009, No. 142 (Adj. Sess.), § 9; 2013, No. 173 (Adj. Sess.), § 2; 2019, No. 91 (Adj. Sess.), § 29, eff. July 1, 2020.)