Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2023-2024 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

The Vermont Statutes Online have been updated to include the actions of the 2023 session of the General Assembly.

NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.

Title 21 : Labor

Chapter 005 : Employment Practices

Subchapter 003A : Notice of Potential Layoffs Act

(Cite as: 21 V.S.A. § 417)
  • § 417. Administrative penalty

    An employer who fails to give notice as required by subsection 413(b) or 414(b) of this subchapter shall be subject to an administrative penalty of $500.00 for each day that the employer was deficient in the notice to the Department. The Commissioner may waive the administrative penalty if the employer:

    (1) demonstrates good cause under subsection 414(b) of this subchapter;

    (2) pays to all affected employees the amounts for which the employer is liable under section 415 of this title within 30 days from the date the employer enacts the business closing or mass layoff; and

    (3) pays to all affected employees any unpaid wage and compensation owed to any laid-off worker, as required under this title. (Added 2013, No. 125 (Adj. Sess.), § 2, eff. Jan. 15, 2015.)