Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2023-2024 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

The Vermont Statutes Online have been updated to include the actions of the 2023 session of the General Assembly.

NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.

Title 21 : Labor

Chapter 003 : Safety

Subchapter 002A : Elevators and Conveyances

(Cite as: 21 V.S.A. § 152)
  • § 152. New installations; annual inspections and registrations

    (a) A new conveyance shall not be placed in operation until it has been inspected by an elevator inspector other than the installer, and a certificate of operation has been issued.

    (b) Every conveyance subject to this subchapter shall be inspected annually by an elevator inspector who may charge a fee for the service as established by the Board by rule. Rules adopted by the Board under this subsection shall take into account the degree of difficulty required by the inspection, the frequency of use of the conveyance, and the mode of operation of the conveyance, such as cable, traction, hydraulic, light use, or platform lift. The inspector shall notify the Department if a conveyance is found to be in violation of this subchapter or any rule adopted under this subchapter.

    (c) An elevator inspector shall issue a certificate of operation after the inspector has inspected a new or existing conveyance, and has determined that the conveyance is in compliance with this subchapter. A certificate of operation shall be renewed annually. An owner of a conveyance shall ensure that the required inspections and tests are performed at intervals that comply with rules adopted by the Board. Certificates of operation shall be clearly displayed on or in each conveyance.

    (d) The Department may issue a conditional certificate of operation for a conveyance that is not in complete compliance, provided the conveyance has been inspected and determined to be safe for temporary operation. This conditional certificate of operation shall permit a conveyance to operate for no more than 180 days or until the conveyance is in compliance, whichever occurs first.

    (e) The inspector shall submit $25.00 of the fee charged for each inspection to the Department for each certificate of operation issued under this subchapter.

    (f) As established by the Board by rule, an inspector may charge a fee not to exceed $250.00 for each inspection, and this fee shall be subject to the provisions of 32 V.S.A. chapter 7, subchapter 6.

    (g) [Repealed.] (Added 2001, No. 60, § 1, eff. July 1, 2002; amended 2007, No. 153 (Adj. Sess.), § 6b.)