Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2023-2024 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

The Vermont Statutes Online have been updated to include the actions of the 2023 session of the General Assembly.

NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.

Title 21 : Labor

Chapter 003 : Safety

Subchapter 002A : Elevators and Conveyances

(Cite as: 21 V.S.A. § 151)
  • § 151. Permits

    (a) No conveyance shall be erected, constructed, installed, or altered in a public building unless a permit has been obtained from the Department before work is commenced. Before a material alteration, as defined by rule, is begun, the conveyance shall conform to rules adopted by the Board regulating the alteration. A copy of the permit shall be kept at the construction site at all times while work is in progress.

    (b) Each application for a permit shall be accompanied by a fee of $25.00, and copies of specifications and accurately scaled and fully dimensioned plans that clearly indicate location of the elevator in the building; the location of the machinery room and the equipment to be installed, relocated, or altered; all structural supporting members, including foundations; and a specification of all materials to be used and all loads to be supported or conveyed. The plans and specifications shall be sufficiently complete to illustrate all details of construction and design.

    (c) A permit may be revoked for any of the following reasons:

    (1) a false statement or a misrepresentation of a material fact in the application, plans, or specifications on which the permit was based;

    (2) failure of the permittee to perform work in accordance with the conditions of the permit, the provisions of the application, plans, or specifications, or with the standards required by this subchapter; or

    (3) failure of the permit holder to comply with any order issued pursuant to section 154 of this title.

    (d) Work shall commence within six months after the date of issuance of a permit, or within a shorter period of time as the Commissioner may specify in the permit.

    (e) A permit shall expire if work is suspended or abandoned for more than 60 days after work has begun, or a shorter period of time as the Commissioner may specify in the permit. For good cause shown, the Commissioner may extend this period. (Added 2001, No. 60, § 1, eff. July 1, 2002.)