The Vermont Statutes Online
The Vermont Statutes Online have been updated to include the actions of the 2023 session of the General Assembly.
NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.
Subchapter 002 : Pounds and Impounding(Cite as: 20 V.S.A. § 3454)
§ 3454. Stallions
A stallion found running at large may be impounded. Within 48 hours, the impounder shall notify the owner or keeper thereof. If the owner or keeper does not, within three days after such notice, pay to the impounder such damages as are assessed by three disinterested freeholders, appointed by a justice of the peace or a Superior judge of the county, with the costs and expenses of impounding, appraising, and the poundkeeper’s charge of $50.00 per day, the impounder may sell the stallion at public auction to satisfy the same, giving four days’ notice of the time and place of sale, and the balance, after paying the damage and expenses, shall be paid to the treasurer of the town in which the stallion was impounded, for the use of the owner, if demanded within one year, otherwise to the use of the town. (Amended 1965, No. 194, § 10, eff. Feb. 1, 1967; 1997, No. 16, § 3.)