The Vermont Statutes Online
The Vermont Statutes Online have been updated to include the actions of the 2023 session of the General Assembly.
NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.
Subchapter 002 : Pounds and Impounding(Cite as: 20 V.S.A. § 3418)
§ 3418. Forfeiture for failure to replevy or redeem
If the owner or keeper of an animal impounded does not, within 48 hours after notice of the impoundment pursuant to the provisions of this chapter, either replevy or redeem the animal, he or she shall be liable to the poundkeeper for $3.00 for each animal left in pound, plus an additional $3.00 for each additional day the animal is left in pound. The poundkeeper may recover the amount in a civil action. (Amended 1981, No. 114 (Adj. Sess.), § 2; 2021, No. 20, § 195.)