The Vermont Statutes Online
The Vermont Statutes Online have been updated to include the actions of the 2023 session of the General Assembly.
NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.
Subchapter 001 : General Provisions(Cite as: 20 V.S.A. § 3349)
§ 3349. Stallions
(a) An owner or keeper of a stallion, more than one year old, who intentionally or negligently permits the stallion to run at large out of the enclosure of the owner or keeper, shall be fined for each instance not more than $500.00 nor less than $100.00 and shall also be liable to a party injured for the damage done by the stallion while running at large.
(b) A person who owns or keeps a stallion over one year of age, between April 1 and December 1, in a private enclosure in a manner that disturbs and annoys the owner or occupant of adjoining premises shall be fined $5.00 for each week that the owner or keeper keeps the stallion after the owner or keeper has received three days’ notice from an adjoining owner or occupant to remove the stallion. (Amended 1997, No. 16, § 2; 2021, No. 20, § 193.)