Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2023-2024 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

The Vermont Statutes Online does not include the actions of the 2024 session of the General Assembly. We expect them to be updated by November 1st.

NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.

Title 20 : Internal Security and Public Safety

Chapter 173 : Prevention and Investigation of Fires

Subchapter 005 : Boilers and Pressure Vessels

(Cite as: 20 V.S.A. § 2883)
  • § 2883. Boiler inspections

    (a) The Commissioner has authority to obtain specific information from boiler inspectors on forms that shall first be approved by the Commissioner.

    (b) The Commissioner may authorize qualified inspectors to conduct inspections under such rules as the Commissioner may prescribe.

    (1) If a boiler or pressure vessel is insured, the inspection may be conducted by a qualified inspector who is employed, or contractually authorized, by the insurer.

    (2) If a boiler or pressure vessel is not insured, the inspection may be conducted by any qualified inspector authorized by the Commissioner. In case the inspection is made by such an inspector, a fee shall not be charged by the Division, except a process fee of $30.00 for issuance of an operating certificate.

    (c)(1) The fee for a person requesting a three-year authorization to conduct inspections shall be $150.00.

    (2) A licensed boiler inspector shall carry liability insurance in an amount determined by the Department. (Added 2003, No. 141 (Adj. Sess.), § 4a, eff. April 1, 2005; amended 2009, No. 134 (Adj. Sess.), § 4; 2019, No. 178 (Adj. Sess.), § 35, eff. July 1, 2021.)