Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2023-2024 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

The Vermont Statutes Online does not include the actions of the 2024 session of the General Assembly. We expect them to be updated by November 1st.

NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.

Title 20 : Internal Security and Public Safety

Chapter 173 : Prevention and Investigation of Fires

Subchapter 004 : Investigation of Fires

(Cite as: 20 V.S.A. § 2833)
  • § 2833. Reports to Fire Marshal

    (a) The chief of a volunteer or paid fire department or, if there is no fire department, the selectboard chair of a town shall within five days of the occurrence of a fire within the jurisdiction that causes serious injury to any person or loss or damage to property that exceeds $200.00 forward a report of the fire to the State Fire Marshal on forms provided by the Fire Marshal. If the reporting officer has reason to believe that a fire is of suspicious origin, the officer shall report that fact to the State Fire Marshal immediately. No fee shall be paid or allowed any officer for rendering the report required by this subsection.

    (b) An officer referred to in subsection (a) of this section who intentionally neglects to comply with any of the requirements of this subchapter shall be fined not more than $100.00. (Amended 1973, No. 137 (Adj. Sess.), § 4; 2021, No. 20, § 175; 2021, No. 105 (Adj. Sess.), § 394, eff. July 1, 2022.)