Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2023-2024 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

The Vermont Statutes Online does not include the actions of the 2024 session of the General Assembly. We expect them to be updated by November 1st.

NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.

Title 20 : Internal Security and Public Safety

Chapter 173 : Prevention and Investigation of Fires

Subchapter 002 : Division of Fire Safety

(Cite as: 20 V.S.A. § 2752)
  • § 2752. Smoking

    (a) A person who smokes a pipe, cigar, or cigarette in a mill, factory, barn, stable, or other outbuilding belonging to or occupied by another person, or in a public building in which a notice containing this section, prohibiting such smoking, signed by the owner, agent, occupant, or custodian of the same is posted conspicuously near the main entrance thereof, shall be fined not more than $5.00.

    (b) All prosecutions under this section shall be commenced within 30 days from the date of the offense.