Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2023-2024 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

The Vermont Statutes Online does not include the actions of the 2024 session of the General Assembly. We expect them to be updated by November 1st.

NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.

Title 20 : Internal Security and Public Safety

Chapter 173 : Prevention and Investigation of Fires

Subchapter 002 : Division of Fire Safety

(Cite as: 20 V.S.A. § 2734)
  • § 2734. Penalties

    (a) A person who violates any provision of this subchapter or any order or rule issued pursuant to this subchapter shall be fined not more than $10,000.00. The State’s Attorney of the county in which the violation occurs shall prosecute the violation and may commence a proceeding in the Superior Court to compel compliance with the order or rule, and the court may make orders and decrees in relation to the proceeding by way of writ of injunction or otherwise.

    (b) A person who fails to comply with a lawful order issued under authority of this subchapter in case of sudden emergency shall be fined not more than $20,000.00. A person who fails to comply with an order requiring notice shall be fined $200.00 for each day’s neglect commencing with the effective date of the order or the date the order is finally determined if an appeal has been filed.

    (c) The Commissioner may, after notice and opportunity for hearing, assess an administrative penalty of not more than $1,000.00 for each violation of this subchapter or any rule adopted under this subchapter. Penalties assessed pursuant to this subsection shall be based on the severity of the violation. An election by the Commissioner to proceed under this subsection shall not limit or restrict the Commissioner’s authority under subsection (a) of this section.

    (d) Violation of any rule adopted under this subchapter shall be prima facie evidence of negligence in any civil action for damage or injury that is the result of the violation. (Added 2003, No. 141 (Adj. Sess.), § 3, eff. April 1, 2005; amended 2021, No. 20, § 171.)