The Vermont Statutes Online
§ 1544. State pay for military service
(a) Each enlisted man and woman in the military or naval forces of the United States subsequent to August 5, 1964 and not later than March 31, 1973, who resided in the state of Vermont at the time of his or her enlistment or induction into the service of the United States shall be entitled to receive from the state, in addition to the pay received from the federal government, the sum of $10.00 for each month not exceeding a total of twelve months served in such forces. Payment may be made upon honorable discharge from service, or upon death in service, or upon honorable separation from active federal service; and in the case of the death of the enlisted man or woman after discharge and prior to the receipt of payment, it shall be paid to his or her spouse, or if there is no spouse living, to the next of kin who are lineal heirs.
(b) In case any enlisted man or woman dies while in service, his or her spouse, or if there is no spouse living, the next of kin who are lineal heirs, shall be entitled to receive from the state the sum of $120.00, except that if any claim is made under this section by a claimant other than a spouse or issue of the deceased, the claim shall not be paid for a period of nine months after the decease of such enlisted man or woman, and payment made by the state after such nine months' period shall be in and constitute full compliance with this section.
(c) No person shall receive compensation from the state of Vermont under this section if he or she enlisted with the armed services for a period of six months or less for the sole purpose of training.
(d) No person shall receive compensation from the state of Vermont for any service performed subsequent to the date that the President or the Congress of the United States declares that the so-called Vietnam action has ceased. (1969, No. 209 (Adj. Sess.), § 1, eff. March 24, 1970; amended 1973, No. 138 (Adj. Sess.), § 6, eff. Feb. 22, 1974.)