Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2023-2024 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

The Vermont Statutes Online does not include the actions of the 2024 session of the General Assembly. We expect them to be updated by November 1st.

NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.

Title 20 : Internal Security and Public Safety

Chapter 001 : Emergency Management

(Cite as: 20 V.S.A. § 30)
  • § 30. State Emergency Response Commission; creation

    (a) The State Emergency Response Commission is created within the Department of Public Safety. The Commission shall consist of 17 members: eight ex officio members, including the Commissioner of Public Safety, the Secretary of Natural Resources, the Secretary of Transportation, the Commissioner of Health, the Secretary of Agriculture, Food and Markets, the Commissioner of Labor, the Director of Fire Safety, and the Director of Emergency Management, or designees; and nine public members, including a representative from each of the following: local government, the local emergency planning committee, a regional planning commission, the fire service, law enforcement, emergency medical service, a hospital, a transportation entity required under EPCRA to report chemicals to the State Emergency Response Commission, and another entity required to report extremely hazardous substances under EPCRA.

    (b) The nine public members shall be appointed by the Governor for staggered three-year terms. The Governor shall appoint the Chair of the Commission.

    (c) Members of the Commission, except State employees who are not otherwise compensated as part of their employment and who attend meetings, shall be entitled to a per diem and expenses as provided in 32 V.S.A. § 1010. (Added 1989, No. 252 (Adj. Sess.), § 23; amended 1993, No. 194 (Adj. Sess.), § 3, eff. June 14, 1994; 2003, No. 42, § 2, eff. May 27, 2003; 2005, No. 209 (Adj. Sess.), § 22; 2007, No. 47, § 16; 2021, No. 52, § 13.)