Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2023-2024 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

The Vermont Statutes Online have been updated to include the actions of the 2023 session of the General Assembly.

NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.

Title 18 : Health

Chapter 221 : Health Care Administration

Subchapter 002 : Claims Processing and Contract Standards

(Cite as: 18 V.S.A. § 9419)
  • § 9419. Charges for access to medical records

    (a) A custodian may impose a charge that is no more than a flat $5.00 fee or no more than $0.50 per page, whichever is greater, for providing copies of an individual’s health care record. A custodian shall provide an individual or the authorized recipient with an itemized bill for the charges assessed. A custodian shall not charge for providing copies of any health care record requested to support a claim or an appeal under any provision of the Social Security Act or for any other federal or State needs-based benefit or program.

    (b) A custodian may charge an individual a fee, reasonably related to the associated costs, for providing copies of X-rays, films, models, disks, tapes, or other health care record information maintained in other formats.

    (c) As used in this section:

    (1) “Custodian” means any person who maintains health care information for any lawful purpose, including a health care provider, a health care facility, or a health insurer.

    (2) “Health care record” means all written and recorded health care information about an individual maintained by a custodian.

    (3) “Individual” means a natural person, alive or dead, who is the subject of health care information and includes, when appropriate, the individual’s attorney-in-fact; legal guardian; health care agent, as defined in chapter 231 of this title; executor; or administrator. (Added 1999, No. 129 (Adj. Sess.), § 2; amended 2017, No. 113 (Adj. Sess.), § 107.)