Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2023-2024 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

The Vermont Statutes Online have been updated to include the actions of the 2023 session of the General Assembly.

NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.

Title 18 : Health

Chapter 103 : Birth Records

(Cite as: 18 V.S.A. § 5078a)
  • § 5078a. Certificate of live birth for a foreign born child adopted in Vermont

    (a) The State Registrar shall establish in the Statewide Registration System a “certificate of live birth for a foreign born child” when he or she receives:

    (1) a written request that the certificate be established:

    (A) from the adopted person if 14 years of age or older; or

    (B) from the adoptive parent or parents if the adopted person is under 14 years of age; and

    (2) a record of adoption issued under 15A V.S.A. § 3-801(a).

    (b) The certificate shall include:

    (1) the true or probable foreign country of birth and true or probable date of birth;

    (2) the adoptive parents as though they were natural parents;

    (3) a notation that it was issued by authority of this chapter;

    (4) a statement that the certificate is not evidence of U.S. citizenship; and

    (5) any other information the State Registrar may prescribe.

    (c) The certificate shall not contain a statement whether the adopted person was illegitimate.

    (d), (e) [Repealed.] (Added 1985, No. 229 (Adj. Sess.), § 3; amended 2017, No. 46, § 31, eff. July 1, 2019.)