The Vermont Statutes Online
Subchapter 002 : CANNABIS FOR MEDICAL SYMPTOM USE BY PERSONS WITH SEVERE ILLNESS(Cite as: 18 V.S.A. § 4474g)
[Section 4474g repealed effective March 1, 2022]
§ 4474g. Dispensary Registry identification card; criminal background check
(a) The Department shall issue each owner, principal, financier, and employee of a dispensary a Registry identification card or renewal card within 30 days after receipt of the person's name, address, and date of birth and a fee of $50.00. The fee shall be paid by the dispensary and the cost shall not be passed on to an owner, principal, financier, or employee. Except as provided in subdivision (b)(2) of this section, a person shall not serve as an owner, principal, financier, or employee of a dispensary until that person has received a Registry identification card issued under this section. Each card shall specify whether the cardholder is an owner, principal, financier, or employee of a dispensary and shall contain the following:
(1) the name, address, and date of birth of the person;
(2) the legal name of the dispensary with which the person is affiliated;
(3) a random identification number that is unique to the person;
(4) the date of issuance and the expiration date of the Registry identification card; and
(5) a photograph of the person.
(b)(1) Prior to acting on an application for a Registry identification card, the Department shall obtain with respect to the applicant a Vermont criminal history record, an out-of-state criminal history record, and a criminal history record from the Federal Bureau of Investigation. Each applicant shall consent to the release of criminal history records to the Department on forms developed by the Vermont Crime Information Center. A fingerprint-supported, out-of-state criminal history record and a criminal history record from the Federal Bureau of Investigation shall be required only every three years for renewal of a card for a dispensary owner, principal, and financier.
(2) Once a Registry card application has been submitted, a person may serve as an employee of a dispensary pending the background check, provided the person is supervised in his or her duties by someone who is a cardholder. The Department shall issue a temporary permit to the person for this purpose, which shall expire upon the issuance of the Registry card or disqualification of the person in accordance with this section.
(c) When the Department obtains a criminal history record, the Department shall promptly provide a copy of the record to the applicant and to the owner, principal, or financier of the dispensary if the applicant is to be an employee. The Department shall inform the applicant of the right to appeal the accuracy and completeness of the record pursuant to rules adopted by the Department.
(d) The Department shall comply with all laws regulating the release of criminal history records and the protection of individual privacy. No person shall confirm the existence or nonexistence of criminal history record information to any person who would not be eligible to receive the information pursuant to this subchapter.
(e) The Department shall not issue a Registry identification card to any applicant who has been convicted of a drug-related offense or a violent felony or who has a pending charge for such an offense. As used in this subchapter, "violent felony" means a listed crime as defined in 13 V.S.A. § 5301(7) or an offense involving sexual exploitation of children in violation of 13 V.S.A. chapter 64.
(f) The Department shall adopt rules for the issuance of a Registry identification card and shall set forth standards for determining whether an applicant should be denied a Registry identification card because his or her criminal history record indicates that the person's association with a dispensary would pose a demonstrable threat to public safety. The rules shall consider whether a person who has a conviction for an offense not listed in subsection (e) of this section has been rehabilitated. A conviction for an offense not listed in subsection (e) of this section shall not automatically disqualify a person for a Registry identification card. A dispensary may deny a person the opportunity to serve as a board member or an employee based on his or her criminal history record. An applicant who is denied a Registry identification card may appeal the Department's determination in Superior Court in accordance with Rule 75 of the Vermont Rules of Civil Procedure.
(g) A Registry identification card of an owner, principal, financier, or employee shall expire one year after its issuance or upon the expiration of the registered organization's registration certificate, whichever occurs first. (Added 2011, No. 65, § 1, eff. June 2, 2011; amended 2013, No. 194 (Adj. Sess.), § 6, eff. June 17, 2014; 2015, No. 168 (Adj. Sess.), § 5; 2017, No. 65, § 7; 2018, No. 8 (Sp. Sess.), §§ 8, 19, eff. June 28, 2018; repealed on March 1, 2022 by 2019, No. 164 (Adj. Sess.), § 11.)