The Vermont Statutes Online
The Vermont Statutes Online have been updated to include the actions of the 2023 session of the General Assembly.
NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.
Subchapter 001 : Regulated Drugs(Cite as: 18 V.S.A. § 4237)
§ 4237. Selling or dispensing to minors; selling on school grounds
(a) Dispensing regulated drugs to minors. A person knowingly and unlawfully dispensing any regulated drug to a minor who is at least three years that person’s junior shall be sentenced to a term of imprisonment of not more than five years.
(b) Sale of regulated drugs. A person knowingly and unlawfully selling any regulated drug to a minor shall, in addition to any other penalty, be sentenced to a term of imprisonment of not more than 10 years.
(c) Selling on school grounds. No person shall knowingly and unlawfully:
(1) dispense or sell a regulated drug to any person on a school bus or on real property owned by a public or private elementary, secondary, or vocational school;
(2) sell a regulated drug to any person on real property abutting real property owned by a public or private elementary, secondary, or vocational school; or
(3) dispense a regulated drug to any person in public view on real property abutting real property owned by a school.
(d) Abutting school property. The selling or dispensing of a regulated drug to a person on property abutting school property is a violation under this section only if it occurs within 500 feet of the school property. Property shall be considered abutting school property if:
(1) it shares a boundary with school property; or
(2) it is adjacent to school property and is separated only by a river, stream, or public highway.
(e) Penalty. A person who violates subsection (c) of this section shall, in addition to any other penalty, be sentenced to a term of imprisonment of not more than 10 years.
(f) Definitions. As used in this section:
(1) “Minor” means a person under the age of 18.
(2) “Owned by a school” means owned, leased, controlled, or subcontracted by a school and used frequently by students for educational or recreational activities. (Added 1989, No. 100, § 8; amended 2001, No. 52, § 10; 2003, No. 54, § 8; 2017, No. 113 (Adj. Sess.), § 83.)