The Vermont Statutes Online
The Vermont Statutes Online have been updated to include the actions of the 2023 session of the General Assembly.
NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.
§ 1918. Enforcement
(a) If the Commissioner determines that a hospital has failed to comply with any of the provisions of this chapter, the Commissioner may sanction the hospital as provided in this title. In evaluating compliance, the Commissioner shall place primary emphasis on assuring good faith compliance and effective corrective action by the facility, reserving punitive enforcement or disciplinary action for those cases in which the facility has displayed recklessness, gross negligence, or willful misconduct or in which there is evidence, based on other similar cases known to the Department, the Agency of Human Services, or the Office of the Attorney General, of a pattern of significant substandard performance that has the potential for or has actually resulted in harm to patients.
(b) After notice and an opportunity for hearing, the Commissioner may impose on a hospital that knowingly violates a provision of this chapter or a rule or order adopted pursuant to this chapter a civil administrative penalty of not more than $10,000.00 or, in the case of a continuing violation, a civil administrative penalty of not more than $100,000.00 or one-tenth of one percent of the gross annual revenues of the health care facility, whichever is greater. A hospital aggrieved by a decision of the Commissioner under this section may appeal the Commissioner’s decision pursuant to section 128 of this title. (Added 2005, No. 215 (Adj. Sess.), § 324.)