Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2023-2024 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.

NOTE: The online version of the Vermont Statutes does NOT yet include the actions of the 2023 legislative session. The 2023 updates should be available by the end of October.

Title 18 : Health



(Cite as: 18 V.S.A. § 1427)
  • § 1427. Employee rights

    (a) An employer shall not discharge or discipline or otherwise discriminate against an employee because that employee assisted in the supervision or enforcement of this chapter.

    (b) Any employee who believes that he or she has been discharged or otherwise discriminated against in violation of this section may, within 30 days after such violation occurs, file a complaint with the Commissioner of Health alleging such discrimination. Upon receipt of such complaint, the Commissioner shall cause such investigation to be made as the Commissioner deems appropriate. If upon investigation, the Commissioner determines that the provisions of this section have been violated, he or she shall bring an action in Superior Court against such person. In any such action, the court shall have jurisdiction for cause shown to restrain violations of subsection (a) of this section and order all appropriate relief including rehiring or reinstatement of the employee to his or her former position with back pay.

    (c) Within 90 days of the receipt of a complaint filed under this section, the Commissioner shall notify the complainant of the determination under subsection (b) of this section. (Added 1987, No. 69, § 2, eff. July 1, 1988.)