Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2023-2024 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

The Vermont Statutes Online have been updated to include the actions of the 2023 session of the General Assembly.

NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.

Title 16 : Education

Chapter 025 : Attendance and Discipline

Subchapter 003 : Compulsory Attendance

(Cite as: 16 V.S.A. § 1128)
  • § 1128. Legal pupil taken to school; nonresident child living in district

    (a) A superintendent may and the truant officer shall stop a child between the ages of six and 16 years or a child 16 years of age or over and enrolled in public school, wherever found during school hours, and shall, unless such child is excused or exempted from school attendance, take the child to the school that she or he should attend.

    (b) A child of legal school age who is not exempt from school attendance and who has not finished the elementary school course and is living in a district other than the place of legal residence shall, with the school board’s approval, be admitted immediately to a school in the district where he or she is found. If the child is not admitted to school, then immediate action shall be taken by the truant officer to cause the return of the child to the district of his or her residence. (Amended 1965, No. 46, § 4, eff. May 5, 1965; 1999, No. 113 (Adj. Sess.), § 5.)