Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2023-2024 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

The Vermont Statutes Online have been updated to include the actions of the 2023 session of the General Assembly.

NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.

Title 16 : Education

Chapter 025 : Attendance and Discipline

Subchapter 003 : Compulsory Attendance

(Cite as: 16 V.S.A. § 1126)
  • § 1126. Failure to attend; notice

    When a student between the ages of six and 16 years, who is not excused or exempted from school attendance, fails to enter school at the beginning of the academic year or, being enrolled, fails to attend the school, and when a student who is at least 16 years of age becomes enrolled in a public school and fails to attend, the teacher or principal shall notify the truant officer and either the superintendent or the school board, unless the teacher or principal is satisfied that the student is absent on account of illness. (Amended 1965, No. 46, § 3, eff. May 5, 1965; 1975, No. 48, § 11, eff. April 15, 1975; 1999, No. 113 (Adj. Sess.), § 4; 2013, No. 92 (Adj. Sess.), § 121, eff. Feb. 14, 2014.)