Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2023-2024 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

The Vermont Statutes Online have been updated to include the actions of the 2023 session of the General Assembly.

NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.

Title 16 : Education

Chapter 025 : Attendance and Discipline

Subchapter 003 : Compulsory Attendance

(Cite as: 16 V.S.A. § 1122)
  • § 1122. Students over 16

    A person having the control of a child over 16 years of age who allows the child to become enrolled in a public school shall cause the child to attend the school continually for the full number of the school days of the term in which he or she is enrolled, unless the child is mentally or physically unable to continue or is excused in writing by the superintendent or a majority of the school directors. In case of such enrollment, the person and the teacher, child, superintendent, and school directors shall be under the laws and subject to the penalties relating to the attendance of children between the ages of six and 16 years. (Amended 1965, No. 46, § 2, eff. May 5, 1965; 2011, No. 58, § 2, eff. May 31, 2011.)