The Vermont Statutes Online
Subchapter 002 : POSTSECONDARY SCHOOLS(Cite as: 16 V.S.A. § 177)
§ 177. Postsecondary approval; fees
(a) A postsecondary school subject to section 176 of this title shall pay:
(1) a fee of $4,000.00 for an application for approval to offer credit-bearing courses;
(2) a fee of $5,000.00 for an application for degree-granting authority if the postsecondary school is approved to offer credit-bearing courses; and
(3) a fee of $7,500.00 if the school seeks approval under subdivisions (1) and (2) of this subsection simultaneously.
(b) If a postsecondary school that is subject to section 176 of this title and is operating within an unexpired certification period files an application to offer a new degree at the same level as a degree previously approved by the State Board, then the fee shall be based upon the actual costs to the Agency but shall not be less than $1,000.00 for each new degree.
(c) A postsecondary school subject to section 176a of this title shall pay:
(1) the fees set forth in subsection (a) of this section for initial review and approval pursuant to subdivision 176a(c)(3) of this title;
(2) a fee of $1,000.00 for initial registration with the Agency pursuant to subdivision 176a(c)(5) of this title; and
(3) an annual fee of $500.00 to renew its registration to operate in Vermont pursuant to subsection 176a(d) of this title.
(d) Fees assessed under this section are not refundable.
(e) Fees assessed under this section shall be credited to a special fund established and managed pursuant to 32 V.S.A. chapter 7, subchapter 5, and shall be available to the Agency to offset the costs of approval. (Added 1989, No. 263 (Adj. Sess.), § 3, eff. June 20, 1990; amended 1997, No. 59, § 24, eff. June 30, 1997; 2003, No. 70 (Adj. Sess.), § 25, eff. March 1, 2004; 2011, No. 58, § 21, eff. May 31, 2011; 2013, No. 92 (Adj. Sess.), § 25, eff. Feb. 14, 2014.)