The Vermont Statutes Online
NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.
NOTE: The online version of the Vermont Statutes does NOT yet include the actions of the 2023 legislative session. The 2023 updates should be available by the end of October.
§ 6-102. Records confidential
(a) All records on file with the court or in the possession of an agency, the Department of Health, the registry, or other provider of professional services in connection with an adoption are confidential and may not be inspected except as provided in this title.
(b) During a proceeding for adoption, records are not open to inspection except as directed by the court.
(c) Within 30 days after a decree of adoption becomes final, the clerk of the Superior Court shall send to the registry a copy of any document signed pursuant to section 2-105 of this title.
(d) All records on file with the court or agency shall be retained permanently and kept confidential for 99 years after the date of the adoptee’s birth. Confidential records and indices are not open to inspection or copying by any person except as provided in this title.
(e) The records of an agency that ceases operation in this State shall be transferred to the Department for retention under the provisions of this title. (Added 1995, No. 161 (Adj. Sess.), § 1; amended 2009, No. 154 (Adj. Sess.), § 131; 2017, No. 28, § 4, eff. May 10, 2017.)