Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2023-2024 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

The Vermont Statutes Online have been updated to include the actions of the 2023 session of the General Assembly.

NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.

Title 15 : Domestic Relations

Chapter 011 : Annulment and Divorce

Subchapter 001 : Annulment

(Cite as: 15 V.S.A. § 513)
  • § 513. Party under age of 16 years

    A complaint to annul a civil marriage on the ground that one of the parties was under the age of 16 years may be brought by the parent or guardian entitled to the custody of such minor or by a person admitted by the court to prosecute the same as the next friend of such minor. However, such marriage shall not be annulled on the complaint of a party of legal age at the time it was contracted nor when the parties, after they attained the age of consent, freely cohabited as husband and wife. (Amended 2009, No. 3, § 12a, eff. Sept. 1, 2009.)