Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2023-2024 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.

NOTE: The online version of the Vermont Statutes does NOT yet include the actions of the 2023 legislative session. The 2023 updates should be available by the end of October.

Title 14 : Decedents Estates and Fiduciary Relations

Chapter 111 : GUARDIANSHIP


(Cite as: 14 V.S.A. § 2643)
  • § 2643. Release by court and parent on behalf of minor

    (a) The Superior judge of the Superior Court within and for the county where the minor resides, on behalf of a minor, must approve of and consent to a release to be executed by a parent in the settlement of any claim that does not exceed the sum of $10,000.00. A release so furnished shall be binding on the minor and both parents, their heirs, executors, administrators, or assigns, respectively.

    (b) Any claim settled for a sum in excess of $10,000.00 shall require the approval of a court-appointed guardian. (Added 1959, No. 262, § 38, eff. June 11, 1959; amended 1973, No. 193 (Adj. Sess.), § 3, eff. April 9, 1974; 1979, No. 77, § 1, eff. May 10, 1979; 2019, No. 167 (Adj. Sess.), § 17, eff. October 7, 2020.)