Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2023-2024 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

The Vermont Statutes Online have been updated to include the actions of the 2023 session of the General Assembly.

NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.

Title 13 : Crimes and Criminal Procedure

Chapter 167 : Crime Victims

Subchapter 001 : Compensation to Victims of Crime

(Cite as: 13 V.S.A. § 5356)
  • § 5356. Amount of compensation

    (a) If the application is approved, the Board shall authorize cash payments, not to exceed $10,000.00, to or on behalf of the applicant, equal to the unreimbursed pecuniary loss directly resulting from the injury or death of the victim. Applications approved in any fiscal year shall not exceed funds appropriated and authorized in that fiscal year for this purpose.

    (b) Funds available to the Board for payments include fees collected and deposited by the court into the Victims Compensation Fund as described in section 7282 of this title and monies from inmate labor contributions from the prison industries enhancement program or from any other source.

    (c) The Board may reimburse health care facilities and health care providers as defined in 18 V.S.A. § 9402 at 60 percent of the billed charges for compensation claims for uninsured crime victims who do not qualify for the hospital’s patient assistance program, Medicaid, or Medicare. The health care facility or health care provider shall not bill any balance to the uninsured crime victim. (Added 1989, No. 214 (Adj. Sess.), § 1; amended 1995, No. 63, § 53; 2007, No. 173 (Adj. Sess.), § 2; 2015, No. 34, § 2, eff. May 26, 2015.)