Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2023-2024 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

 

Title 13 : Crimes and Criminal Procedure

Chapter 085 : WEAPONS

Subchapter 001 : GENERALLY

(Cite as: 13 V.S.A. § 4020)
  • § 4020. Sale of firearms to persons under 21 years of age prohibited

    (a) A person shall not sell a firearm to a person under 21 years of age. A person who violates this subsection shall be imprisoned for not more than one year or fined not more than $1,000.00, or both.

    (b) This section shall not apply to:

    (1) a law enforcement officer;

    (2) an active or veteran member of the Vermont National Guard, of the National Guard of another state, or of the U.S. Armed Forces;

    (3) a person who provides the seller with a certificate of satisfactory completion of a Vermont hunter safety course or an equivalent hunter safety course that is approved by the Commissioner; or

    (4) a person who provides the seller with a certificate of satisfactory completion of a hunter safety course in another state or a province of Canada that is approved by the Commissioner.

    (c) As used in this section:

    (1) “Firearm” shall have the same meaning as in subsection 4017(d) of this title.

    (2) “Law enforcement officer” shall have the same meaning as in subsection 4016(a) of this title.

    (3) “Commissioner” means the Commissioner of Fish and Wildlife. (Added 2017, No. 94 (Adj. Sess.), § 7, eff. April 11, 2018.)