Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2023-2024 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

The Vermont Statutes Online have been updated to include the actions of the 2023 session of the General Assembly.

NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.

Title 13 : Crimes and Criminal Procedure

Chapter 076 : Weapons of Mass Destruction

(Cite as: 13 V.S.A. § 3503)
  • § 3503. Threats

    (a) No person shall communicate a threat to use a weapon of mass destruction, knowing that the threat is likely to cause:

    (1) evacuation of a building, place of assembly, or facility of public transport; or

    (2) a person to fear serious bodily injury.

    (b) A person who violates this section shall:

    (1) For a first offense, be imprisoned for not more than two years or fined not more than $5,000.00, or both.

    (2) For a second or subsequent offense, be imprisoned for not more than five years or fined not more than $10,000.00, or both.

    (c) It shall not be a defense to a prosecution under this section that the defendant did not have the capability or means of committing the specified offense or that the threat was not made to a person who was a subject thereof. The foregoing shall not impair a defendant’s right to assert a defense based upon insanity or diminished capacity.

    (d) Nothing in this section shall be construed to limit or restrict prosecution under any other applicable laws. (Added 2001, No. 137 (Adj. Sess.), § 3.)