The Vermont Statutes Online
NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.
NOTE: The online version of the Vermont Statutes does NOT yet include the actions of the 2023 legislative session. The 2023 updates should be available by the end of October.
§ 3011. Officers in charge of jury
An officer, sworn to take charge of a jury impaneled by the Superior Court for the trial of a cause, who, after they have been charged by the court, suffers a person to speak to them upon matters submitted to their charge, or speaks to them himself or herself about the same, except to ask if they are agreed upon a verdict, before they deliver their verdict in court, or are discharged, shall be fined not more than $500.00. The constable or other person having charge of a jury impaneled by a Justice, who in like manner offends, shall be fined not more than $200.00. (Amended 1965, No. 194, § 10; 1973, No. 193 (Adj. Sess.), § 3; eff. April 9, 1974; 2009, No. 154 (Adj. Sess.), § 99.)