The Vermont Statutes Online
NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.
NOTE: The online version of the Vermont Statutes does NOT yet include the actions of the 2023 legislative session. The 2023 updates should be available by the end of October.
§ 2828. Luring a child
(a) No person shall knowingly solicit, lure, or entice, or to attempt to solicit, lure, or entice, a child under 16 years of age or another person believed by the person to be a child under 16 years of age, to engage in a sexual act as defined in section 3251 of this title or engage in lewd and lascivious conduct as defined in section 2602 of this title.
(b) This section applies to solicitation, luring, or enticement by any means, including in person, through written or telephonic correspondence or electronic communication.
(c) This section shall not apply if the person is less than 19 years of age, the child is at least 15 years of age, and the conduct is consensual. (Added 1999, No. 122 (Adj. Sess.), § 6; amended 2005, No. 192 (Adj. Sess.), § 9; 2019, No. 132 (Adj. Sess.), § 1.)