The Vermont Statutes Online
NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.
NOTE: The online version of the Vermont Statutes does NOT yet include the actions of the 2023 legislative session. The 2023 updates should be available by the end of October.
Subchapter 006 : THEFT OF RENTED PROPERTY(Cite as: 13 V.S.A. § 2592)
§ 2592. Failure to return a rented or leased motor vehicle
(a) A person commits the offense of failure to return a rented or leased motor vehicle if the person:
(1) rents or leases a motor vehicle, as defined in 23 V.S.A. § 4(21), pursuant to an agreement in writing that provides for the return of the vehicle to a particular place at a particular time;
(2) intentionally and without good cause fails to return the vehicle to that place within 72 hours after the time and date specified;
(3) does not give notice to the person from whom the vehicle was rented or leased that he or she will not be able to return the vehicle on the date and time stated in the agreement and does not obtain an extension of the date and time on which the vehicle will be returned; and
(4) when the person rented or leased the vehicle, the person was provided the following notice in boldface type:
THE FAILURE TO RETURN A RENTED OR LEASED MOTOR VEHICLE WITHIN 72 HOURS AFTER THE DATE AND TIME SPECIFIED IN THE WRITTEN AGREEMENT WITHOUT EXTENDING THE DATE AND TIME IS A CRIME UNDER VERMONT LAW (13 V.S.A. § 2592) AND MAY RESULT IN A CRIMINAL PENALTY OF UP TO FIVE YEARS IMPRISONMENT OR A $5,000.00 FINE, OR BOTH.
(b) A person who violates this section shall be imprisoned for not more than three years or fined not more than $3,000.00, or both. If the person has been previously convicted of a violation of this section, the person shall be imprisoned not more than five years or fined not more than $5,000.00, or both. (Added 1995, No. 181 (Adj. Sess.), § 25.)