Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2023-2024 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

The Vermont Statutes Online have been updated to include the actions of the 2023 session of the General Assembly.

NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.

Title 13 : Crimes and Criminal Procedure

Chapter 055 : Kidnapping

(Cite as: 13 V.S.A. § 2407)
  • § 2407. Unlawful restraint in the first degree

    (a) A person commits the crime of unlawful restraint in the first degree if that person:

    (1) knowingly restrains another person under circumstances exposing that person to a risk of serious bodily injury; or

    (2) holds another person in a condition of involuntary servitude.

    (b) Unlawful restraint in the first degree is punishable by imprisonment for not more than 15 years or a fine of not more than $50,000.00, or both. (Added 1989, No. 293 (Adj. Sess.), § 3.)