The Vermont Statutes Online
The Vermont Statutes Online have been updated to include the actions of the 2023 session of the General Assembly.
NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.
§ 2030. Identity theft
(a) No person shall obtain, produce, possess, use, sell, give, or transfer personal identifying information belonging or pertaining to another person with intent to use the information to commit a misdemeanor or a felony.
(b) No person shall knowingly or recklessly obtain, produce, possess, use, sell, give, or transfer personal identifying information belonging or pertaining to another person without the consent of the other person and knowingly or recklessly facilitating the use of the information by a third person to commit a misdemeanor or a felony.
(c) For the purposes of this section, “personal identifying information” includes name, address, birth date, Social Security number, motor vehicle personal identification number, telephone number, financial services account number, savings account number, checking account number, credit card number, debit card number, picture, identification document or false identification document, electronic identification number, educational record, health care record, financial record, credit record, employment record, e-mail address, computer system password, or mother’s maiden name, or similar personal number, record, or information.
(d) This section shall not apply when a person obtains the personal identifying information belonging or pertaining to another person to misrepresent the person’s age for the sole purpose of obtaining alcoholic beverages, tobacco, or another privilege denied based on age.
(e) It shall be an affirmative defense to an action brought pursuant to this section, to be proven by a preponderance of the evidence, that the person had the consent of the person to whom the personal identifying information relates or pertains.
(f) A person who violates this section shall be imprisoned for not more than three years or fined not more $5,000.00, or both. A person who is convicted of a second or subsequent violation of this section involving a separate scheme shall be imprisoned for not more than 10 years or fined not more than $10,000.00, or both. (Added 2003, No. 155 (Adj. Sess.), § 4, eff. June 8, 2004.)