The Vermont Statutes Online
The Vermont Statutes Online have been updated to include the actions of the 2023 session of the General Assembly.
NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.
§ 2026. Installation of object in lieu of air bag
(a) No person shall knowingly install or reinstall or knowingly cause to be installed or reinstalled:
(1) an object in lieu of a vehicle air bag that was designed in accordance with the federal safety regulation for the make, model, and year of a vehicle; or
(2) an inoperable vehicle air bag, knowing the air bag is inoperable.
(b) A person who violates subsection (a) of this section shall be imprisoned for not more than three years or fined not more than $10,000.00, or both.
(c) A person who violates subsection (a) of this section, and serious bodily injury as defined in section 1021 of this title or death results, shall be imprisoned for not more than 15 years or fined not more than $10,000.00, or both. (Added 2001, No. 122 (Adj. Sess.), § 1.)