The Vermont Statutes Online
The Vermont Statutes Online have been updated to include the actions of the 2023 session of the General Assembly.
NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.
§ 2002. False pretenses or tokens
A person who designedly by false pretenses or by privy or false token and with intent to defraud, obtains from another person money or other property, or a release or discharge of a debt or obligation, or the signature of a person to a written instrument, the false making whereof would be punishable as forgery, shall be imprisoned not more than 10 years or fined not more than $2,000.00, or both, if the money or property so obtained exceeds $900.00 in value. A person who violates this section shall be imprisoned for not more than one year or fined not more than $1,000.00, or both, if the money or property obtained in violation of this section is valued at $900.00 or less. (Amended 1971, No. 199 (Adj. Sess.), § 15; 1981, No. 223 (Adj. Sess.), § 23; 2005, No. 156 (Adj. Sess.), § 2.)