Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2023-2024 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.

NOTE: The online version of the Vermont Statutes does NOT yet include the actions of the 2023 legislative session. The 2023 updates should be available by the end of October.

Title 13 : Crimes and Criminal Procedure


(Cite as: 13 V.S.A. § 1809)
  • § 1809. Counterfeiting coin

    A person who counterfeits gold or silver coin, current by law or usage in this State, or utters, passes, or gives in payment such counterfeit gold or silver coin, knowing the same to be false and counterfeit, with intent to injure or defraud a person, and a person who has in his possession false money or coin, counterfeited in the similitude of gold or silver coin, current as aforesaid, knowing the same to be false and counterfeit, with intent to utter or pass the same as true, or counsels, advises, or assists in counterfeiting, uttering, or passing such gold or silver coin, shall be imprisoned not more than 15 years and fined not more than $1,000.00, or both. (Amended 1971, No. 199 (Adj. Sess.), § 15; 1981, No. 223 (Adj. Sess.), § 23.)