The Vermont Statutes Online
NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.
NOTE: The online version of the Vermont Statutes does NOT yet include the actions of the 2023 legislative session. The 2023 updates should be available by the end of October.
§ 1801. Forgery and counterfeiting of papers, documents, etc
A person who wittingly, falsely, and deceitfully makes, alters, forges, or counterfeits, or wittingly, falsely, or deceitfully causes to be made, altered, forged, or counterfeited, or procures, aids, or counsels the making, altering, forging, or counterfeiting, of a writ, process, public record, or any certificate, return, or attestation of a clerk of a court, public register, notary public, justice, or other public officer, in relation to a matter wherein such certificate, return, or attestation may be received as legal proof, or a charter, deed, or any evidence or muniment of title to property, will, terminal care document, testament, bond, or writing obligatory, letter of attorney, policy of insurance, bill of lading, bill of exchange, promissory note, or an order drawn on a person or corporation, or on a State, county, or town or school district treasurer, for money or other property, or an acquittance or discharge for money or other property, or an acceptance of a bill of exchange, or indorsement or assignment of a bill of exchange or promissory note, for the payment of money, or any accountable receipt for money, goods, or other property, or certificate of stock, with intent to injure, or defraud a person, shall be imprisoned not more than 10 years and fined not more than $1,000.00, or both. (Amended 1971, No. 199 (Adj. Sess.), § 15; 1981, No. 141 (Adj. Sess.), § 2, eff. April 8, 1982; 1981, No. 223 (Adj. Sess.), § 23.)