Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2023-2024 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.

NOTE: The online version of the Vermont Statutes does NOT yet include the actions of the 2023 legislative session. The 2023 updates should be available by the end of October.

Title 13 : Crimes and Criminal Procedure

Chapter 041 : FALSE ALARMS AND REPORTS

(Cite as: 13 V.S.A. § 1751)
  • § 1751. False alarms to agencies of public safety

    (a) A person who willfully or knowingly gives, or aids or abets in giving, by any means any false alarm of fire or other emergency to be transmitted to or within any organization, official or volunteer, for dealing with emergencies involving danger to life or property shall be imprisoned for not more than one year or fined not more than $1,000.00, or both.

    (b) If bodily injury or death is sustained by any person as a result of a violation of this section, the person convicted of the violation in lieu of any penalty imposed by subsection (a) of this section shall be imprisoned for not more than five years or fined not more than $2,000.00, or both; however, this subsection shall not prevent the imposition of a greater fine or sentence against any person who is convicted of any degree of homicide, including manslaughter. (Added 1971, No. 169 (Adj. Sess.), § 1.)